First Offense DUI in Chandler, AZ

Experienced Criminal Defense Lawyer Dedicated to Helping Clients Effectively Navigate First Time DUIs

Being charged with a first offense DUI in Chandler, AZ, can be a daunting experience, but it's crucial for you to understand as much as possible about your case, the stakes, and the potential penalties and defenses that may be available to you. The bottom line is that being arrested for a DUI doesn’t mean you’re going to be found guilty. However, to ensure your rights are protected at every step of the process, it is essential to work with a dedicated Chandler DUI defense attorney.

At the Law Office of James E. Novak, we proudly represent drivers who are facing their first DUI. We understand that you never expected to find yourself in this situation and—if you’re like most people—are overwhelmed and scared. Attorney James Novak has decades of experience helping clients who found themselves in the same situation you are in now and knows what it takes to secure the best possible result in your case.

Chandler’s DUI Laws

In Arizona, DUI laws are notably strict, and Chandler police take an especially aggressive approach to DUI enforcement. However, understanding these laws is crucial to effectively handling your case.

If you're found driving with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you are legally intoxicated and subject to arrest for DUI. However, Arizona law also allows for police officers to arrest you with a BAC lower than 0.08% if you appear impaired. For drivers of commercial vehicles, the limit is even stricter, set at 0.04%.

Arizona also recognizes “Extreme DUI” for BAC levels of 0.15% or higher and “Super Extreme DUI” for levels of 0.20% or greater, each carrying increasingly severe penalties. Penalties include mandatory jail time, hefty fines, license suspension, and the installation of an ignition interlock device.

Penalties for a First Offense DUI in Chandler, AZ

If you are convicted of a DUI in Chandler, the penalties can be severe, even if it's your first offense. The state categorizes a standard DUI as having a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% but less than 0.15%. For standard DUIs, the punishments may include:

Jail Time: You will face a minimum of 10 consecutive days in jail. However, the court may suspend 9 of these days if you complete a court-ordered alcohol or drug education program.

Fines and Costs: The minimum fine is $250, but additional assessments can increase the total to over $1,500.

License Suspension: Your driving privileges will be suspended for 90 days. After 30 days of no driving, you may be eligible for a restricted license that allows travel to and from work, school, or treatment facilities.

Ignition Interlock Device (IID): You will be required to use an IID on your vehicle for at least 12 months. This device requires you to pass a breathalyzer test before your vehicle will start.

Insurance: Expect a significant increase in your auto insurance premiums. You may also be required to carry SR-22 insurance, which is a certification that you have the minimum required insurance coverage for up to three years.

Does Chandler Have a DUI Diversion Program?

Chandler does not currently provide any type of DUI diversion program. However, there are a few ways to avoid a conviction if you’ve been arrested for a first-time DUI. First, your Chandler DUI defense attorney may be able to negotiate with prosecutors, convincing them to withdraw the DUI and replace it with a less serious traffic violation, such as reckless driving.

Second, after reviewing your case, your lawyer may recommend one of several different defenses. Typically, to benefit from a defense, you’ll need to take the case to trial, although occasionally, prosecutors will understand the strength of a defense and either withdraw the charges or offer you a plea agreement to less serious charges.

Have You Been Arrested for a First Offense DUI in Chandler, AZ?

If you were recently charged with your first DUI, don’t panic—you have options. However, time is of the essence, and it is important you act quickly to secure an experienced Chandler DUI lawyer. At the Law Office of James E. Novak, we have more than 25 years of experience helping keep good people who find themselves facing DUI charges stay on the road and out of jail. We’re familiar with the best DUI defenses and how to use them to ensure that your case ends in the best result possible. To learn more and to schedule a free consultation with our Chandler DUI lawyer today, call 480-413-1499. You can also reach us through our secure online contact form.

Contact Us for a Free Consultation
(840) 413-1499